• Available
  • Lowest Price Guarantee

From R700 per Unit

Thaba Manzi Ranch

  • Available
  • Lowest Price Guarantee

From R700 per Unit

Overview

2000 acre Game and Cattle Ranch nestled below and incorporating 2.5 km of the cliffs, Kloofs and the mountain forest of the Magaliesberg. Thaba Manzi is a venue where you can truly escape from the city life. Come experience the wonder of multi-coloured indigenous Nguni Cattle and Pedi Sheep, sharing grazing with Haartebeest, Eland, Gemsbok, Nyala, Zebra, Blesbok and graceful Giraffe as they did in olden times.

Enjoy an evening braai where the back-ground music is the sounds of the bush and the calls of the Jackals. Or for the more active, we offer horse trails, hikes and climbs in the mountains, and game viewing on numerous internal cycle and walking trails.

4 well appointed Self-Catering Cottages accommodating from 2 to 4 people comfortably, handling a total of 12 people sharing. Individually furnished each cottage is uniquely designed with Victorian slipper baths and double showers. They all have fully equipped kitchens, as well as their own braai areas.

There is a shared pool area.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you.


Thaba Manzi is a working ranch where we ranch Nguni beef cattle on a "grass-fed" basis. Our Pedi indigenous sheep stud is one of the top in the country and our animals have won many awards.
We maintain a remuda of thirteen trail horses and cattle ponies.
Our 450ha game reserve is home to Giraffe, Nyala, Zebra, Impala, Red Hartebeest, Eland, Waterbuck and Gemsbok. We also have numerous smaller game including warthogs, vervet monkeys, baboons, porcupines, jackal and rooikatte. Leopards still roam the mountains.

Leave the smog of the city behind and 1 hour later you can breathe our fresh country air and watch the fantastic sunsets here at Thaba Manzi Ranch, favourite tipple at your elbow.
Rejuvenated get a good night's rest and then wake up to the magic of the ranch at dawn.

Just what the doctor ordered.

Horse riding
Mountain Biking (bring your own)
Hiking
Game Viewing
Cattle round ups
Walks

Facilities

    Room Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Room service
  • Small Pets
  • Telephone

    On Site Facilities

  • Children Allowed
  • Pool
  • Secure Parking
  • Self Catering

Rates

Additional Rates Info:
Rates are per cottage per night and valid during the week and on weekends. They include usage of water, electricity and maid service. No meals. Pets welcome by arrangement. We require a 50% deposit to be paid immediately to secure the booking, balance is payable a week before arrival. There is also a R200.00 refundable Key deposit payable in cash on arrival. Normal weekends we have a set On weekends we have a two night min stay. No deposits or full payments will be refunded, no refunds are given if the client leaves the farm early or for whatever reason. If you don't show or come and don't stay, having an outstanding balance, you will still be liable to pay it.

Lavender & Peacock

Sleeps 4
Lavender & Peacock Room Thumbnail Pic 1

Click image to enlarge

The cottage has a Victorian slipper bath and double shower, queen bed in the bedroom and a double sleeper couch in the lounge. The kitchen is fully equipped for self-catering, unit has a shared braai area and overlooks the swimming pool and mountains. All bed linen and bath towels are provided. Units have heaters / fan. NO TV.

Date Unit Single PP Sharing
Month Year Wkend Daily Wkend Daily Wkend Daily
January 2016   R 900        
February 2016   R 900        
March 2016   R 900        
April 2016   R 900        
May 2016   R 900        
June 2016   R 900        
July 2016   R 900        
August 2016   R 900        
September 2016   R 900        
October 2016   R 900        
November 2016   R 900        
December 2016   R 900        

Lilac & Loerie

Sleeps 2
Lilac & Loerie Room Thumbnail Pic 1

Click image to enlarge

The cottage has a Victorian Slipper bath and double showers, queen bed, lounge, kitchen is fully equipped for self-catering and is all open plan, unit has a braai area and patio that overlooks the mountains. All bed linen and bath towels are provided. Unit has heaters / ceiling fan. NO TV.

Date Unit Single PP Sharing
Month Year Wkend Daily Wkend Daily Wkend Daily
January 2016   R 700        
February 2016   R 700        
March 2016   R 700        
April 2016   R 700        
May 2016   R 700        
June 2016   R 700        
July 2016   R 700        
August 2016   R 700        
September 2016   R 700        
October 2016   R 700        
November 2016   R 700        
December 2016   R 700        
NOTE: If a search was made without stipulating the month of occupation the rate shown on the search results page is for the lowest cost month and the least expensive room. Where pricing is "per unit" the Average Price Per Person based on maximum occupancy is used for the price range comparison. A search made for Homes and Villas however will always be based on the full daily rate of the unit irrespective of the number of people the unit sleeps.

Rates are deemed correct at time of publication and may fluctuate depending on supply and demand. Establishments maintain their rates online and any differences should be referred to the Establishment's staff. Quotations once accepted are binding.

Rates last updated: 28 March 2016
  • Booking Reliability
  • Response Rate: 100%
  • Average Response Time: 3 hours
  • Cancellations after payment: 0%
  • Cards accepted by this establishment
  • Mastercard
  • Visa

All credit cards are accepted when paying through Sleeping-OUT.

Location

MB 9, Marikana Road, Maanhaarrand, 1791

Map Thaba Manzi Ranch in Magaliesburg  West Rand  Gauteng  South Africa

Guest Comments

Establishment was not aware we had been booked in. The helper, was taken by surprise when we arrived as she had no idea that there was a booking. Waited for half an hour for her to clean up room. Room full of ants and flies - no insect repellents provided. When I enquired, was told they don't have none and as it's a farm, there are lots of insects and flies - accepted but surely insect spray or repellents should be provided. Saturday was a nightmare - still asleep and helper waiting outside to clean and she ushered us out of room - notes inside says cleaning will be done between 11am and 1pm which we had planned ourselves to leave unit by 12pm so as to allow the room to be cleaned - not to ushered out by 11.15am. Saturday the place was infested with flies - especially kitchen - the most filthiest establishment that I have ever stayed at - and yes- we have stayed at many working farms but not as fly infested as this one - shocking! Sunday morning was even worse with a thick carpet of flies and ants in kitchen - had to throw away food!!!. Will never recommend this establishment to anybody. Pathetic
- Viv Padayachee

What a beautiful getaway from all the hustle and bustle of city life! The directions to get to the farm are very clear. We loved hearing and seeing the farm animals and especially enjoyed the horse riding. The cottage was well equipped with everything we needed. Looking forward to visiting again!
- Ryan McCarthy

Thaba Manzi is a little piece of heaven and I would recommend it to other guests. Especially if you want to escape from it all.
- Debbie connell

When arrived there was no indication as to where to go to book in.I was driving up and down the entry road asking some of the workers but the only answer was that the owner was not available and will only be back tomorrow. Eventually we found a lady that was "waiting for us" that showed us where to go and handed us the key. No explanantion or information as to what facilities are available and what can be done.
The next day again no one was able to tell us how to get to the river or the dam that was advertised. The only enjoyable thing about this weekend was the stillness and the walks in the veld.

- Willie Taljaard

We booked a weekend away for a friend and her two children at Thaba Manzi Ranch for 11 to 14 October 2013 as a present to experience farm life
This turned out as a big embarrassment for our self as the experience was nothing like promised on the website
The pool was out of order and pool furniture was not in useable condition, the bath leak water all over the bathroom floor, the current condition of the room was not as indicated on the website. The water tank providing water to the unit was overflowing and flooding the grass area at the unit. There were no assistance or information regarding activities advertised at the venue
The problems were brought under the attention of the management, there was no attempt to assist in correcting the problems and our friend check out after only one night at the venue.
I lodge a formal complaint to Thaba Manzi Ranch and Sleeping-OUT regarding our experience. I received one response from Thaba Manzi Ranch blaming all the problems identified to a storm they had the previous day. They were also very quick to remind me of the zero refund policy.
I will definitely not recommend this venue

- Johan Pretorius

Dining-OUT in the area

28 km
Cape Town Fish Market - Rustenburg
  • Cape Town Fish Market - Rustenburg
  • Seafood, South African, Japanese, Breakfast, Sushi
  • View
28.6 km
Crawdaddy's - Rustenburg
  • Crawdaddy's - Rustenburg
  • Seafood, Fusion, Cajun/Creole, Steakhouse
  • View
31.1 km
Greensleeves Medieval Kingdom
  • Greensleeves Medieval Kingdom
  • Medieval, Buffet, Country
  • View
40.4 km
Mo-Zam-Bik Restaurant - Krugersdorp
  • Mo-Zam-Bik Restaurant - Krugersdorp
  • Portuguese, Seafood, African, Grills
  • View
42.1 km
Bellgables Country Restaurant
  • Bellgables Country Restaurant
  • Global/International, Fine Dining, Country
  • View
See more on Dining-OUT